Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Patti Smith won the Polar prize, the "Nobel of music '

Rock singer Patti Smith and the classical music group Kronos Quartet, both Americans, have been awarded in Stockholm Polar Prize, considered the 'Nobel Prize of music. " Patti Smith has shown how much poetry there is in rock and roll The jury noted that Smith "has dedicated his life to art in all its forms", showing "how much rock and roll is in poetry and how poetry is in the rock and roll" .

"Patti Smith is a Marshall amp, Rimbaud. It has transformed how a generation, look, think and dream," highlighted the failure. Moreover, for four decades the Kronos Quartet has revolutionized the potential of the string quartet genre in style and content, "according to the jury. His work continues the statement, can be used to play the music of Mozart or Beethoven, but also to "comment on international politics, interpret and incorporate cutting-edge rock music from every corner of the world." Both Smith and the Kronos Qartet receive one million kroner (112,000 euros) each from King Carl XVI Gustaf at the award ceremony to be held Aug.

30 at the Stockholm Concert Hall. Smith (Chicago, 1946) began his career as a poet in the early 1970's and of his public readings of poetry came a trio with Lenny Kaye and Richard Sohl with which he played regularly in New York, including the legendary Max's Kansas City, and transformed the music scene in the Big Apple.

At that time released classic albums such as Horses, Radio Ethiopia and Easter, before retiring in 1979 from public life when she married Fred "Sonic" Smith, guitarist for the legendary rock band MC5 American garage. Final return to the stage came in 1995 with Gone Again, and since then has continued recording albums and performing worldwide, combining his musical career with his role as poet, who has been recognized with several awards.

The Kronos Quartet has its origins in 1973 and since then has tried to combine musical exploration with a commitment to expand the scope and context of a string quartet. Creator of over 45 recordings, collaborated with many musicians, from avant-garde composers to jazz musicians or rock like Tom Waits and David Bowie, as well as composing pieces for films.

Patti Smith and Kronos Quartet replaced in the award honors Italian composer Ennio Morricone and the Icelandic singer Björk. The Polar Prize was created in 1989 by Stig Anderson, editor, composer and representative of the group Abba. Since 1992 began to be granted, Polar has distinguished performers as BB King, Cyorgy Ligeti, Keith Jarrett, Bob Dylan, Ray Charles, Pierre Boulez, Elton John, Bruce Springsteen, Stevie Wonder, Pink Floyd, Dizzy Gillespie, Sony Rollins and Gilberto Gil.

No comments:

Post a Comment